Lozah

My take on “Love in a Headscarf”

I just finished reading Shelina Zahra Janmohammed’s debut autobiography “Love in a Headscarf”. Being a 25-year old single Muslim woman, I am going through a process very similar to the one she describes. Her journey to understand herself as a Muslim, her relation to the broader community and to the world in general is one that both inspires and challenges me. I too have been consistently been told that that “nice girls don’t climb mountains”. Yet, I have stubbornly persisted in doing just that. Love in a Headscarf gave me a fresh perspective: nice girls can climb as many mountains as they want to, as long as they’re doing it with the right neyya (intention).

 

The book helped me reaffirm my suspicion that each experience I have gone through is a stepping stone to further personal and spiritual development. This book came at a time when the worst aspects of my character were beginning to dominate my thoughts: namely, impatience and arrogance. Reading about the author’s experience with spiritual growth and connecting with the Divine has reminded me that I have always found warmth and security in the steady knowledge that Allah’s love for all His creations is indefatigable, and that He is closer to each and every one of us than the veins in our neck.

He knows what I am going through, and He knows what is best for me.

 

بِسْمِ ٱللَّهِ ٱلرَّحْمَٰنِ ٱلرَّحِيمِ

وَلَقَدْ خَلَقْنَا ٱلْإِنسَٰنَ وَنَعْلَمُ مَا تُوَسْوِسُ بِهِۦ نَفْسُهُۥ ۖ وَنَحْنُ أَقْرَبُ إِلَيْهِ مِنْ حَبْلِ ٱلْوَرِيدِ

April 16, 2009 - Posted by | Islam, Personal

5 Comments »

  1. Hey! I liked this post….keep on blogging, blogger!

    Comment by T | April 25, 2009 | Reply

  2. you can climb all the mountains you want isA! 😀

    Comment by T | April 25, 2009 | Reply

    • hehe, thanks tee! Bas enta ya3ny metannesh el blog beta3ak ba2alak keda shahrein wala 7aga leih? Mayenfa3sh el kalam dah!

      Comment by lozah | May 2, 2009 | Reply

  3. yes,keep blogging..some r listening 🙂

    Comment by Muhammad Adel | May 1, 2009 | Reply

    • motshakereen 3al tashgee3 yafandem 🙂

      Comment by lozah | May 2, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

