Lozah

To-do List

To-do list:

  • Finish the books on my ever-expanding reading list. At the top of the list are  “Faith in Divine Unity and Trust in Divine Providence” and “Disciplining the Soul” from al-Ghazali’s Ihyaa’ Uloom al-Deen (Revival of the Islamic Sciences). I also found a copy of “Deliverance from Error” at al-kotob khan, and it includes in the appendices a bunch of other texts, e.g. parts of al-maqsad al-asna fe sharh asma’ Allah al-husna,  parts of the Faysal which I understand is his essay on Takfir.  I’m going through a Ghazali phase these days, I don’t know why.
  • Attend the 6-day workshop at Bridges Foundation. It starts tonight inshallah. I hope it’s useful.
  • Start work on my own personal “project” to translate into English Sheikh Ali Gomaa’s al-Namozaj al-Maarefy al-Islami (The Islamic Intellectual Paradigm) to make sure I understand it correctly. The only way I can make sure I’ve understood something in Araby correctly is to see if I can translate it into English. If I can’t, then I know I’m not getting it.
  • Figure out what I want to do with my life. I know it’ll eventually be something in academia insha’Allah, because that’s the only area where I feel like I’m producing something with some semblance of value, but the question is which field. Over the course of the past few years I’ve jumped from Computer Science to Economics to Economic Development to Sociology to Political Science (they say that’s typical Gemini behaviour, but since I don’t buy into that stuff I pretend not to listen while simultaneously being annoyed at myself for not dispelling that myth). Now I think I’m finally settled on Middle East Studies and Islamic Studies. But I don’t want to lose my experience in economic development. So, if inshallah I decide to go back to academic research, I will probably be looking at something like an Islamic approach to development based on things like the Maqasid and the Sunnah, combined with a critique of how development is being done today in Middle Eastern countries (that should be the easiest part), and the field work would be a study of Islamic charity and development organizations in Egypt. Obviously this thought it far from complete, but at least there’s a seed of an idea that I can work on growing later.
  • Plan a short trip to Malaysia and pray to God that it doesn’t get cancelled at the last minute like most of my travel plans do.
  • Oh yeah, work. Sigh, why can’t I just bum around all day and still get paid?
October 1, 2009 - Posted by | Personal

2 Comments »

  1. Lozah I encourage you to go for this step you mentioned in the part of ‘Figure out what to do with your life’ although I share your concern about the last point!

    I am also glad that you found Bridges Foundation 🙂

    Comment by Hicham | October 17, 2009 | Reply

  2. Haha, thanks ya Hicham. The bridges workhshop was AMAZING. Imam Fadel is AMAZING. And I met many great people elhamdulellah and learned a lot. I definitely recommend it to anyone interested in Da’wah.

    Comment by Lozah | October 17, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

